Skip to Main Navigation  |  Skip to Main Content
A A A+ A-

Internal Complaint Committee

Purva G. Hegde-Desai
Purva G. Hegde-Desai
Senior Professor

Presiding Officer, Internal Complaint Committee

The Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 came into being after it was passed in the Parliament of India (The Gazette of India). This Act provides protection against sexual harassment of women at workplace and for the prevention and redressal of complaints of sexual harassment and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. The Act ensures that women are protected against sexual harassment at all the work places, be it in public or private. It contributes to realisation of their right to gender equality, life and liberty and equality in working conditions everywhere. The sense of security at the workplace will improve women's participation in work, resulting in their economic empowerment and inclusive growth.

As per the provisions in the Act, an Internal Complaint Committee at Goa University has been constituted, generally,

  • To evolve a permanent mechanism for the prevention and redressal of sexual harassment cases and other acts of gender based violence at the University,
  • To uphold the commitment of the university to provide an environment free of gender based discrimination,
  • To create a secure physical and social environment to deter any act of sexual harassment, and
  • To promote a social and psychological environment to raise awareness on sexual harassment in its various forms.

The Committee actively organizes sensitization programmes every year and invites participation from among the staff and students by involving them in various activities such as skits, posters, talks, etc., on related theme.

Any complaint of sexual harassment of women at Goa University could be mail to

The committee consists of following members and with the following composition tenable for a period of three years. (Order No. GU/148/Admn-NT/2023/944 dated 22 Nov 2023)

Prof. Purva G. Hegde-Desai

Goa Business School, Goa University
Presiding Officer

Dr. Sandhya Ram S.A.

Associate Professor, V.M. Salgaocar College of Law, Miramar, Panaji, Goa

Dr. Anthony Viegas

School of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, Goa University

Dr. Joanna Pereira Coelho

D.D. Kosambi School of Social Sciences and Behavioural Studies, Goa University

Shri Sachin Sambhaji

Assistant Director (Engineering), Directorate of Digital Learning and Initiatives (DDLI), Goa University

Shri Bhandiye Shaunak Dattadarshan

Elected Student's Representative
Undergraduate Level on Campus, Goa University

Ms. Khanolkar Pranita Ravi

Elected Student's Representative
Master's Level, Goa University

Ms. Jane Gabriella Pereira

Elected Student's Representative
Research Scholar, Goa University

Smt. Sandhya S. S. Neurekar

Assistant Registrar (Purchase), Goa University
Member Secretary