गोंय -४०३ २०६

फोन: +९१-८६६९६०९०४८



Goa University

Taleigao Plateau, Goa-403 206 +91-8669609048 Email: registrar@unigoa.ac.in

ATMANIRBHAR BHARAT SWAYAMPURNA GOA

Website: www.unigoa.ac.in

SPORTS SECTION

Tel: 8669609018/8669609075 Email: sports@unigoa.ac.in

PRESS NOTE

ST. XAVIERS COLLEGE AND ROSARY COLLEGE EXCELS IN HANDBALL INTER **COLLEGIATE CHAMPIONSHIP 2023-24**

St. Xavier's College, Mapusa won Men, while defeated Rosary College of Commerce and Arts, Navelim won the women Handball Championship 2023-24, organized by Goa University at Goa University Ground, Taleigao held from 2nd to 4th January, 2024.

In the well contested Men's championship finals, St. Xavier's College, Mapusa defeated VVM's Shree Damodar College of Commerce and Economics, Margao with a final score 27-19.

In the Women's championship finals, Rosary College of Commerce and Arts, Navelim defeated St. Xavier's College with a final score 9-3.

Earlier in the semifinals of the Women's Section, Rosary College defeated Goa College of Art, Altinho, Panaji with a score of 5-0 and St. Xavier's College defeated Government College of Arts, Science and Commerce, Sanquelim with a score 16-3.

In the Men's semifinals, Shree Damodar College defeated Don Bosco College, Panjim with a score of 27-19. And St. Xavier's College defeated M.E.S's Vasant Joshi College Of Arts & Commerce, Zuarinagar with a score of 28-22.

Best Player Men was awarded to Nathan D'souza of St. Xavier's College, Panjim. And Best Player women was bagged by Kalpita Naik of Rosary College.

In total 19 men's and 16 women's teams participated in the three days Inter College Handball Championship.

Presentation ceremony Chief Guest Prof Sunder Dhuri, Vice Dean, Academic, School of Chemical Sciences, and Director, IQAC, Goa University along with Mr. Balachandra Jadar, Asst. Director of Physical Education and Sports, Goa University and Dr. Francis Lobo, College Director of Physical Education and Sports, Rosary College presented medals and trophies to the winners and runners ups.

Rosary College Womens team: Kalpita Naik, Mamta Kumari, Reez Fernandes, Jossel Mascarenhas, Sharufa Fernandes, Flani Costa, Clency Miranda, Aneila Barretto, Mitali Gaonkar, Tanya Rebello, Rhea Pires, Priti Rebelo, Lillian Fernandes, Jewela Colaco, Riya Castanha. and Madiya Mula

St. Xavier's College Men Team: Nathan Claver D'souza, Zilu S. Korgaonkar, Sohannaik, Arthur Joseph Desouza, Chandrakant Shirodkar, Sameer Ahamad Khaji, Joel Desouza, Taresh Anthony Mendes, Pavan, Sohit, Anson D'souza, Maven Santiago, Mahesh Mazumdar, Premkumar Sharma, and Piyush Harmalkar

(Mr. Balachandra B. Jadar) Asst. Director of Phy. Edn. & Sports, Goa University