## गोंय विद्यापीठ Goa

ताळगांव पठार,

गोंय -४०३ २०६

फोन: +९१-८६६९६०९०४८



# SWAYAMPURNA GOA Goa University

ATMANIRBHAR BHARAT

Taleigao Plateau, Goa-403 206
Tel: +91-8669609048
Email: registrar@unigoa.ac.in

Website: www.unigoa.ac.in

#### **SPORTS SECTION**

Tel: 8669609018/8669609075 Email: <a href="mailto:sports@unigoa.ac.in">sports@unigoa.ac.in</a>

#### PRESS NOTE

### GOVERNMENT COLLEGE OF ARTS, SCIENCE & COMMERCE, QUEPEM WINS GOA UNIVERSITY INTER COLLEGIATE TENNIS MEN CHAMPIONSHIP 2023-24.

Government College of Arts, Science & Commerce, Quepem won the Inter Collegiate Tennis Championship for Men organized by Goa University at Tennis Court fatorda sports complex, Margao on 7th and 8th December, 2023

Government College of Arts, Science & Commerce, Quepem defeated Shree Damodar College of Commerce & Economics, Margao 2-1 in the finals Match

In the Finals First singles, Pranay Naik of Govt. college Quepem defeated Cavel Dias of Shree Damodar college by 6-2. In the second singles Samprabh Desai of Shree Damodar College defeated Nagbhushan Gaonkar of Govt. College Quepem 3-6. In a deciding doubles Govt. College, Quepem represented by Pranay Naik & Nagbhushan Gaonkar defeated Cavel Dias & Saurabh Naik of Shree Damodar College 4-6 to lift the Goa University Inter Collegiate Men Tennis Championship 2023-24

The Chief Guest of the championship Dr. Rajan Mathew, College Director of Physical Education & Sports of Govt.College, Quepem and Guest of Honour Rev. Fr. JINU-Abraham graced the occasion and presented medals and trophies to the winners.

Earlier in the semi-finals Shree Damodar College defeated Don Bosco College, Panjim 2-0 and Government College, Quepem defeated Agnel institute, Assagao by 2-0. A total of 15 teams participated in the two days Tennis Championship.

Government College, Quepem team: Nagbhushan Gaonkar, Pranay p. Naik, Abhishek Gaunkar, Vaibhav Rathod, Prajyot Desai. Team accompanied by Dr. Rajan Mathew, College Director of Physical Education and Sports.

Shree Damodar College, Margao team: Dharmesh Gupta, Christopher D'Souza, Samprabh Phaldesai, Sourav Naik, Cavel Dias. Team accompanied by Mr. Dewaraj Hirekurbar, College Director of Physical Education and Sports and Mr. Saurab Raikar, Instructor in Physical Education.

Date: 08/12/2023

(Mr. Balachandra B. Jadar)
Asst. Director of Phy. Edn. & Sports,
Goa University



