Fr. Agnel College, Pilar Inter Collegiate Football Champs

Fr. Agnel College of Arts and Commerce, Pilar beat Rosary College of Commerce and Arts, Navelim 3-0, to win the Inter Collegiate Men's Football Championship 2023-24 organised by Goa University at Rosary College Ground, Navelim.

In a well-contested final at Rosary College Ground, Navelim, both the teams were equally balanced. But what made the difference was Fr. Agnel College had better ball possession shots on target, and good defence then Rosary College. Fr. Agnel College were on the offensive most of the time in the first half, with longer shots and penetration in the penalty area which resulted in two goals in the first half which was scored by Saish Gaunso with a well-placed free kick in the 40th minute and a grace full play by Sachin Mardolkar scoring another goal for Fr. Agnel College in the 45th minute making score 2-0 at the end of first half.

In the second half, Rosary College Ground strengthened their attack but was kept at bay by the strong defense of Fr. Agnel College. One more goal by Vishesh Nasnodkar in the 64th minute sealed the victory for Fr. Agnel College and lifted the Inter Collegiate Football Men trophy.

Best player of the championship was awarded to Vishesh Nasnodkar of Fr. Agnel College.

Chief Guest Padma Shri Brahmanand Sankhwalkar, former Indian footballer and a captain of the Indian football team and Guest of Honors, Prof. Prof. Helic M. Barretto, Principal, Rosary College, Dr. Fr. Fredrick Rodrigues, Offg. Principal. Fr. Agnel College, Pilar along with Mr. Balachandra B. Jadar, Asst. Director of Physical Education and Sports Goa University, Dr. Francis Lobo, College Director of Physical Education and Sports, Rosary College and Dr. Rajan Mathew, College Director of Physical Education and Sports, Govt. College, Quepem, Dr. Alroy Pinto, College Director of Physical Education and Sports, St. Joseph Vaz College, Cortalim graced the valedictory function and presented medals and trophies to the finalists.

Fr. Agnel College Men Football Team: Nudresh Kuttikar, Sachin Mardolkar, Kenny Rodrigues, Ashwin Fernandes, Johann Mesquita, Diptesh Khandeparkar, Tej Thapa, Alrico Cardozo, Laston Barreto, Nolan Po, Oscar Braganza, Vishesh Nasnodkar, Mohit Santondekar, Omkar Narvekar, Shubert Borges, Saish Gaunso, Anrick Dias, Saeel Aroskar, Ansel Do Rego, Gauraj Kunkolkar.