## **RESS NOTE**

## S.S. DEMPO COLLEGE WINS INTERCOLLEGIATE MENS CRICKETS CHAMPIONSHIP 2022-23

Goa University organised the Inter Collegiate Cricket Championship for Men 2022-23 from 10<sup>th</sup> March to 6<sup>th</sup> April, 2023 at University Ground, Goa University, Taleigao-Goa.

S.S. Dempo College of Commerce and Economics Cujira defeated Government College of Arts, Science, Khandola by 86 runs.

In the finals, Dempo College was put on to bat first. And showed a full domination by scoring 216/5 in 20 overs. Anand Tendulkar scored a quick fire 79 runs of 39 balls and Sagar Vantamuri showed his consistency with a bat too scoring 49 runs in 26 balls. For Govt. College, Kandola; Prathamesh Kunkalkar (1/37); Rishab Gaonkar (1/31) and Rishikesh Naik (1/11) took one wicket each.

Chasing a mammoth total of 218, Government College Khandola got a good start with a score of 46/2 in 5 overs. Later on due to frequent fall of wickets Government College Khandola lost their momentum and ended up scoring 131/9 in 20 overs. Major contributions from the bat came from Prasad Harle and Prathamesh Sawant scoring 26 runs in 11 balls and 23 in 10 balls respectively. Sagar Vantamuri took 5 wickets conceding only 22 runs while Mehank Dharwadkar (1/17), Anand Tendulkar (1/24) and Abhinandan Thakur (1/30) took one wicket each.

In the Individual prizes, Best Batter was awarded to Anand Tendulkar of S.S. Dempo College, while Best Bowler was bagged by Prasad Harle of Govt. College, Khandola. And Player of the tournament was awarded to Sagar Vantamuri of S. S. Dempo College.

In total 40 men's teams participated in the said Championship.

Chief Guest Mr. Ramrao Surya Wagh, Associate Professor & Program Director, Computer Science Discipline of Goa Business School, Goa University, and Guest of Honour Prof. Manoj Kamat, Principal, S.S. Dempo College graced the presentation ceremony and presented trophies to the winners and runners ups.

**S.S. Dempo Men Cricket team:** Abhinandan Thakur, Devanshu Mangueshcar, Prashant Patil, Gopal Naik, Yash Manjrekar, Mohammed Bateri, Aryan Mashelkar, Neelang Naik, Pratik Naik, Mehank Dharwadkar, Jatin Lotlikar, Anand Tendulkar, Soham Parikar, Arakhita Patro, Swayam Naik, Sagar Vantamuri



Winner Cricket Men S.S. Dempo College



Runners Up Cricket Men Govt. College Khandola



Best Batter- Anand Tendulkar of S.S. Dempo College



Best Bowler- Prasad Harle of Govt. College, Khandola



Player of the tournament- Sagar Vantamuri of S. S. Dempo College.