Department of Physics

Head of the Department

Pai Ramesh V.

Year of establishment : 1963 (CPIR)
Office Phone : 0832-6519275
Email :

About Us

The department has strong interactions with national and international institutes/laboratories. The department has also been selected by the UGC under SAP at DRS level for financial support. It is a DST-FIST Sponsored Department.



Thrust areas

Condensed Matter Physics and Sensors & Instrumentation

Academic programmes leading to a Degree / Diploma / Certificate :

Programme Intake
M.Sc. PhysicsTime Table | Syllabus | Prospectus 40


Name Designation Areas of Interest
Cherukulappurath SudhirUGC-Assistant Professor Nanophotonics, Plasmonics, Near-field optics, Super-resolution Microscopy
Desa Joseph Alfred ErwinProfessor.
Hyam Rajesh Kumar ShankarUGC-Assistant Professor Experimental Condensed Matter Physics, Nanomaterials for energy applications
Pahari BholanathUGC-Assistant Professor Experimental Condensed Matter Physics, NMR Spectroscopy
Pai Ramesh V.ProfessorTheoretical Condensed Matter Physics, Phase Transitions, Many-body Physics in Ultra-cold Atoms
Priolkar Kaustubh R. S.ProfessorExperimental Condensed Matter Physics; Structure - Property Correlation in Functional Materials Using X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy (EXAFS and XANES)
Subramaniam UmaProfessor.
Tangsali Rudraji B.Professor.