Department of Philosophy

Head of the Department

Vernekar Sanjyot D.Pai

Year of establishment : 1967 (CPIR)
Office Phone : 0832-6519268
Email :

About Us

The department offers a wide range of optional courses in various traditions of philosophizing such as Indian, Anglo-Saxon and Continental. Some of the optional courses have an interdisciplinary approach and also impart computational skills and statistical techniques. 


Thrust areas

The thrust of the M.A. programme is on developing a critical acumen with regard to a significant variety of philosophical problems, notions and systems. 

Academic programmes leading to a Degree / Diploma / Certificate :

Programme Intake
M.A. PhilosophyTime Table | Syllabus 15
Ph.D Philosophy8


Name Designation Areas of Interest
Desai Milan B.Associate Professor.
Koshy TharakanProfessorPhilosophy of Social Sciences and Phenomenology
Vernekar Sanjyot D.PaiProfessorMedical Ethics
Vinaykumar U. A.Professor