# **GOA UNIVERSITY**

Taleigao Plateau, Goa 403 206

# MINUTES

of the 4<sup>th</sup> Meeting (Special) of the

IX ACADEMIC COUNCIL

Day & Date

14<sup>h</sup> March 2017

<u>Time</u>

3.30 p.m.

Venue

COUNCIL HALL
Administration Block

# Minutes of the Fourth Meeting (Special) of the IX Academic Council

Date: 14<sup>th</sup> March, 2017

Time: 3.30 p.m.

Venue: Council Hall, Goa University, Taleigao Plateau, Goa.

A list of members who attended the meeting of Academic Council and those who sought leave of absence is appended.

The Vice-Chancellor welcomed the members to the Fourth meeting (Special) of the Academic Council and informed that the meeting has been called regarding the conferment of D.Litt. Degree on Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the President of India at the ensuing convocation.

Thereafter, the agenda was taken up for discussion.

D	DISCCUSSION ITEMS
D 7	OTHER ITEMS
D 7.1	Consideration of name of personality for award of Honorary Degree at the ensuing Convocation to be held on 25 <sup>th</sup> April, 2017.
	The Vice-Chancellor briefed the House that the President of India Shri Pranab Mukherjee has consented to be the Chief Guest at the XXIX Annual Convocation of the Goa University to be held on 25th April, 2017. As this was a great honour to the University, the Hon'ble Chancellor was requested to convey the intention of the University to confer an Honorary D. Litt. Degree on Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the Hon'ble President of India during the Convocation Ceremony.
	The University has now received a communication from Shri A. Rai, PS to the President of India, conveying that the Hon'ble President of India has agreed to receive the D. Litt. Degree at the 29th Annual Convocation of Goa University on 25th April, 2017.
	The House considered the proposal and unanimously resolved to recommend to the Executive Council the conferment of the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature [D.Litt.] on Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the Hon'ble President of India.
	(Action: C.O.E)

The meeting ended with thanks to the Chair.

Sd/-(Prof. Y.V. Reddy) Registrar and Member Secretary

Sd/-(Professor Varun Sahni) Vice-Chancellor

Date: 14/03/2017

### List of members who attended the meeting on 14.03.2017

- 1. Prof. Varun Sahni, Vice-Chancellor, Goa University
- 2. Prof. (Smt.) Ishrat Bi Khan, Dean, Faculty of Languages & Literature, Goa University
- 3. Prof. N. Shyam Bhat, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Goa University
- 4. Prof. A.V. Salker, Dean, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Goa University
- 5. Prof. M.K. Janarthanam, Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences & Environment, Goa University
- 6. Prof. K. B. Subhash, Dean, Faculty of Commerce & Management Studies
- 7. Prof. R.S. Prabhu Gaonkar, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, Goa University
- 8. Dr. M.R.K. Prasad, Dean, Faculty of Law, Goa University
- 9. Shri M.V. Vengurlekar, Dean, Faculty of Performing, Fine Art & Music, Goa University
- 10. Prof. V. S. Nadkarni, Department of Chemistry, Goa University
- 11. Prof. P. K. Sudarshan, Department of Economics, Goa University
- 12. Prof. Gopalkrishna Rao, Principal, Goa College of Pharmacy, Panaji, Goa
- 13. Dr. Radhika S. Nayak, Principal, S.S. Dempo College of Commerce & Economics
- 14. Dr. Vikas Pissurlekar, Principal, Shri Ravi S. Naik College of Arts & Science, Ponda, Goa
- 15. Dr. Surendra Rahmatkar, Principal, Shree Rayeshwar Institute of Engineering & Information Technology, Shiroda, Goa
- 16. Dr. M.R. Patil, Principal, Vidya Prabhodini College of Commerce, Education, Computer & Management, Porvorim, Goa
- Dr. Santosh B. Patkar, Principal, Sridora Caculo College of Commerce & Management Studies, Mapusa, Goa
- 18. Dr. Purva G. Hegde, Department of Management Studies, Goa University
- 19. Dr. Sunder N. Dhuri, Department of Chemistry, Goa University
- 20. Shri Parag D. Parobo, Department of History, Goa University
- 21. Dr. Lakshangy Suresh Charya, Department of Microbiology, Goa University
- 22. Dr. Anthony Rodrigues, Fr. Agnel College of Arts & Commerce, Pilar, Goa
- 23. Dr. Ketan Govekar, T-5, Wadji Building, Panaji, Goa
- 24. Dr. Naguesh Colvalkar, B-22-I, Goa University Quarters, Taleigao Plateau, Goa
- 25. Dr. Prakash R. Morakar, B/G-4, Mahalaxmi Residency, Margao, Goa
- 26. Dr. Satish Hari Prabhu keluskar, PES RSN College of Arts & Science
- 27. Dr. Teotone Inas M. Vaz, 151, Landscape Pinto Park, Campal, Panaji, Goa
- 28. Dr. K. G. Sankaranarayanan, Flat No. B4/5, Sapana Village, Tivim, Mapusa, Goa
- 29. Controller of Examinations (Permanent Invitee)
- 30. Registrar, Goa University

### Following members sought leave of absence on 14.03.2017

- 1. Prof. Pradeep Naik, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Goa University
- 2. Dr. Allan Abreo, Dean, Faculty of Education, Goa University
- 3. Prof. Savita Kerkar, Department of Biotechnology, Goa University
- 4. Prof. Guntur Anjana Devi Raju, Department of Commerce, Goa University
- 5. Prof. Vrushali Mandrekar, Department of Hindi, Goa University
- 6. Mrs. Carol Noronha, Principal, Institute of Nursing Education, Bambolim, Goa
- 7. Mrs. Savita S. Nadkarni, Principal, CES College of Arts & Commerce, Salcete, Goa

- 8. Dr. R. B. Patil, Principal, MES College of Arts & Commerce, Zuarinagar, Goa
- 9. Shri Ramrao S. Wagh, Department of Computer Science & Technology, Goa University
- 10. Shri R. K. Satardekar, Additional Commissioner, Commercial Taxes, Panaji, Goa
- 11. Dr. Vasant V. Sail, MES College of Arts & Commerce, Zuarinagar, Goa
- 12. Dr. Sushila S. Mendes, Fourth Floor, C D Blue Chip, Margao, Goa
- 13. Prof. Kailash Sodani, Vice-Chancellor, Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University, Ajmer
- 14. Prof. Errol D'Souza, Indian Institute of Management, Vastrapur, Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380 015
- 15. Dr. V. N. Jindal, Gomeco Housing Society, Bambolim, Goa
- 16. Prof. (Dr.) K. Balakrishnan, Goa instituteof Management, Goa
- 17. Dr. Celsa Pinto, H. No. 428/C, Rua de Natal, Panaji, Goa
- 18. The Director, National Institute of Oceanography, Dona Paula, Goa
- 19. Chairman, Goa Board of Secondary & Higher Secondary Education, Alto Porvorim Goa
- 20. Librarian, Goa University
- 21. Director, IQAC, (Special Invitee), Goa University