Minutes of the Second meeting of the 13th Library Committee

Date: 10.12.2019

Time: 3 p.m.

Venue: Council Hall, G.U.

The list of members who attended the library committee meeting and those who sought permission for absence is appended.

The Chairperson welcomed the members to the second meeting of the 13th Library Committee of Goa University Library. Chairperson expressed strong objection regarding the representatives not attending the Library Committee meeting.

The Chairperson brought to the notice of the members, the sad demise of Shri Suresh Gundu Amonkar, well-known educationist and author in Konkani Krista Purana. He was also chair of the advisory committee of Sasai, the Konkani journal from Goa University. As a mark of respect to the departed soul, the committee maintained two-minute silence.

Chairperson requested the member secretary to proceed with the agenda.

A. Confirmation of the minutes of the First meeting of the 13th Library Committee.

The minutes of the First meeting of the 13th Library Committee was confirmed after discussion.

A2. Action taken report

Member Secretary informed about the workshops and book exhibition conducted by the library. The Chairperson insisted that proper action taken reports should be circulated along with the agenda items.

A3. Statement of Expenditure on books and journals (2019-2020)

Dr. Nandakumar Kamat observed that there is no statement available on expenditure on journals. The Member Secretary informed the committee that the allotment of 10 lakhs was meant for subscription to print journals for language departments.

However, only the Hindi department has recommended print journals. Chairperson observed that the language departments had not utilized their funds for journal subscription. They were urged to proceed with subscription to print journals.

A4. Decision on the authority to countersign the book recommendations of faculty and students from Schools under the university

The Member Secretary informed the Committee that there is confusion regarding the countersigning of recommendations for library purchases by faculty members after the restructuring of the departments into schools. After discussion, it was decided that the recommendations can be countersigned by the Deans/Vice-Deans of the concerned school. It was also decided not to route the bills for procurement to departments while making payment. However, the department should be alerted about the procurement of recommended items.

A5. Any other matters with the permission of the Chair

A.5.1 The Chairperson observed that the proposed Goa Library Network (GOALNET) had not yet been established. Hence, the University might have to pay for subscription of e-resources in 2020 out of its own funds.

A.5.2 The representative of the Department of Women's Studies requested keeping the books on Women's Studies together in the library. The Chairperson suggested to prepare a feasibility report on this and submit.

(Action: University Librarian)

A.5.3 It was decided to start a Cafeteria attached to the library. The member secretary was asked to submit a proposal to the University in this regard.

(Action: University Librarian)

A.5.4 Dr. Nandakumar Kamat proposed the starting of a Film Club attached to the library.

(Action: University Librarian)

A.5.5 It was also decided to conduct an International Book Fair in the month of March.

(Action: University Librarian)

A.5.6 It was also decided to have a biometric system for marking attendance of the library users.

(Action: University Librarian)

The meeting ended at 5.15 p.m. with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

MunJahri

University Librarian/Member Secretary

Vice-Chancellor / Chairperson

List of members who attended the meeting

- 1. Dr. Bipin Tiwari, Dept. of Hindi
- 2. Dr. S.S. Umaraskar, Dept. of Marathi
- 3. Ms. Irene Silveira, Dept. of French
- 4. Dr. Prakash Pariekar, Dept. of Konkani
- 5. Dr. Seema S. Risbud, Dept. of History
- 6. Prof. Anjana Raju, Dept. of Commerce
- 7. Dr. R. Nirmala, Dept. of Management
- 8. Mr. Dattesh Parulekar, Dept. of IR
- 9. Dr. Sanjeev C. Ghadi, Dept. of Biotechnology
- 10. Dr. Anthony Viegas, Dept. of Earth Science
- 11. Dr.M. Tamba, Dept. of Mathematics
- 12. Dr. Shanti N.Dessai, Dept. of Zoology
- 13. Dr. Nandkumar Kamat, Dept. of Botany
- 14. Dr. J.S. Parab, Dept. of Electronics
- 15. Dr. Rahul Tripathi, Dept. of Political Science

Members who attended as proxy

- 1. Ms. Poorwa Naik, Dept. of English
- 2. Ms. Mozinha Fernandes, Dept. of Sociology
- 3. Dr. M.R. Nagvekar, Dept. of Marine Science
- 4. Dr. S.V. Girkar, Dept. of Chemistry
- 5. Ms. Heena Subrai Gaude, Dept. of Economics
- 6. Ms. Nisha Desai, Dept. of Women Studies
- 7. Dr. Priya M.D'Costa, Dept. of Microbiology

Members who were absent

- 1. Prof. Koshy Thakaran, Dept. of Philosophy
- 2. Dr. Bholanath Pahari, Dept. of Physics
- 3. Dr. V.V. Kamat, Dept. of Computer Science
- 4. Ms. Scarlett Fernandes, Dept. of Portuguese